My Mountain

Imagine there was a mountain
Made of your every worst thought.
Every time you worried if you locked the door
behind you
A pebble grew
And every time you doubted your abilities
or your life’s choices
A boulder fell
And when you questioned your very worth
as a person
A cliff face sprang up.
Now imagine you are trapped beneath that mountain
The weight of your fears and insecurities
Bearing down on you
Stealing your breath
Crushing your ribs
Squeezing tears from your raw, red eyes.
That is where I have been living
Under my own personal mountain
Clawing to get free.
But the weight
The sheer weight
Is so much for me I fear
I will never escape.

Leave a Reply

