On Being High-Functioning

Pretty soon I’m going to have two jobs and be going to school. I don’t know if I can handle it, because I’m not like all these high functioning individuals  I meet. I get overwhelmed too easily and discouraged too fast and tired so quickly. Others can work all day and then all night, and they’ll be tired but they can still text or partake in hobbies or go out with friends. Why can’t I be like that?

When I’ve had a long day I cocoon. I block myself off from the world so that I can replenish my batteries that have been so depleted. One simple errand can leave me in a bundle on the couch.

Soon I will be busy with work and school and I don’t know how I’m going to do it. I feel like I’m just not strong enough. I want to believe I am, believe I will be able to handle all that comes to me with grace and poise, but in reality I feel like I will drunkenly stumble through my efforts, barely scraping by.

As sure as I am that I am going to fail, I’m excited for the opportunity to prove myself. Who knows, maybe I’ll surprise everyone, including me.

Leave a Reply

