Take Me to Church

Twice a year my church has a service devoted entirely to members performing musical numbers. I play in the bell choir.

I’ve never liked these services as I tend to get bored, but there is something to be said about the healing qualities of music, and of community.

Music reaches some part of me I am unaware of until the sound hits my soul.

Being part of a large group of people all sharing in the same experience makes me feel connected to the world around me.

For someone who is constantly closed off to the world, stuck in my own head, this is a profound experience.

I’m not very religious, but I think I’ll visit church more often now.

Leave a Reply

